Switch headers Switch to TIGweb.org

Are you an TIG Member?
Click here to switch to TIGweb.org

Home Home Resources OpportunitiesAlberta Heritage Scholarship Fund: Sir James Lougheed Awards of Distinction
Details Opportunity:
Alberta Heritage Scholarship Fund: Sir James Lougheed Awards of Distinction

February 1, 0


Contact Name
Alberta Scholarship Programs

Contact email



You must be logged in to add tags.
About About

Sponsored by: Established in honour of Sir James Lougheed, a Calgary lawyer, parliamentarian, senator and cabinet minister who served in several federal parliaments in the 1800's and early 1900's.

Purpose: To recognize academic achievement and provide Albertans with the opportunity for advanced study at institutions outside of Alberta. Students studying in Alberta should apply for the Ralph Steinhauer Awards for Distinction.

Value: Masters Level - up to $15,000 and Doctoral Level - up to $20,000

Eligibility: Applicants must be Canadian Citizens or Landed Immigrants, be Alberta residents, and be enrolled or planning to enroll full-time in a graduate program at an institution outside of Alberta. There is a lifetime maximum of two awards per student. At the doctoral level, students must have completed at least one full year of graduate study or a master's degree.

Selection: Recipients are chosen by a selection committee appointed by the Presidents of the universities in Alberta. Applicants are judged on previous academic accomplishments, program of study, appraiser's evaluations, answers to the essay question, and general impressions from the application form.

Application: Application can be found on this website: http://www.alis.gov.ab.ca/scholarships/info.asp?EK=45

Applications are also available from Alberta Scholarship Programs.

Deadline: February 1 for study in the following September. Transcripts and appraisals should be submitted by February 15.

Disbursement: Applicants will be notified of the results of the competition by April 1.

Audience: Graduate Students


Please Note: Students may also be eligible for other awards listed on the website.